Twitter Ban: Read The Joint Letter USA, Canada, UK, Ireland, Norway And European Union Wrote To FG

eu letter to Nigeria government
The sudden suspension of popular microblogging platform Twitter in Nigeria has sparked reactions on all social media platforms, and the reactions are not only coming from Nigerians but also international community.

A joint statement from the diplomatic missions of Canada, European Union, Republic of Ireland, United States of America and the United Kingdom has been released concerning their views on the suspension. All the above Countries had a meeting and decided to show solidarity to all Nigerians deprived of their fundamental right to free expression as a result of the ban.


eu letter to Nigeria government


Recall that the Federal Government of Nigeria through the Office of the Minister of Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed on Friday announced the indefinite suspension of Twitter and immediately directed all Telecommunication companies to deactivate the app from internet space.


Individuals, human right groups, lawyers, activists, even Oyo State Governor has spoken against the suspension and argued that every Nigerian has a right to freedom of expression, likewise many people depends on their connection on Twitter to provide for themselves.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button