punishment for Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal And Others


Premier League announces punishment for Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal

The English Premier League has confirmed that the six English clubs that secretly agreed to play in a European Super League (ESL) will pay a combined £22m fine.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by the Premier League and the Football Association on Wednesday afternoon.

The teams – Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham – have also agreed to a £25m fine and a potential 30-point deduction, if it happens in future.

“As a gesture of goodwill, the clubs have collectively agreed to make a contribution of £22m, which will go towards the good of the game, including new investment in support for fans, grassroots football and community programmes,” the statement read in part.

It added that “the clubs have agreed to support rule changes so that any similar actions in the future would lead to a 30-point deduction.

“Each of the six clubs, in that event, would also be subject to an additional £25m fine.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button